Reconnecting Roots

rmanirath:

Check out my blog post for The Los Angeles County Museum of Art‘s (LACMA) Unframed blog!

Originally posted on Unframed The LACMA Blog:

“I don’t know how to sew,” a little boy whispered to me as he stared at the colorful cloth in my hands. In front of him lay sewing instruments and fabrics spread across a long table. I was at the Boone Children’s Gallery, sewing different patches together to create a traditional Korean wrapping cloth, known as a bojagi, when he came up to me.

Richard Manirath Photography 2014

Richard Manirath Photography 2014

“Well, I’m glad you came because I also didn’t know how to sew, but I learned right here!”
“Really?” the little boy asked.
“Really!” I answered back.

Richard Manirath Photography 2014

Richard Manirath Photography 2014

When the LACMA Education team brought up the idea of creating the world’s largest bojagi, I was given the perfect opportunity to learn how to sew after years of wanting to learn. Sewing has been a part of my family for a long time, but I personally never learned…

View original 597 more words

Leave a Reply

